easy week night dinner

I don’t mind cooking, however, I wouldn’t say that I love it. I just get stuck in a cooking rut.  My sister- now she loves to cook and she makes the most adventurous, beautiful, and delicious meals.  She’s turned into a legit foodie with real kitchen gadgets, buying her vegetables at a farmers market, and keeping a food/menu journal. All of this I find so ironic because in college, when we lived together, she would pay me to make her dinner.  But she has inspired me to put away my crock pot and put down the can of Campbell’s Soup Cream of Whatever  (I frequently cook with a crock pot and usually it involves a can of cream of something- guilty.)

The other night I needed to use what was in the fridge (trying to be better about not wasting food) so I whipped up this little number – inspired by my new favorite place to eat, Mezeh.  So far they only exists in VA and MD so sorry for all you that don’t live in those states.  Think Chipotle of the Mediterranean- it’ very similar style.  Ahhhmazing!!!

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 large red onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 zucchini
  • package of pre-cut portabella mushrooms
  • 1 can of whole peeled potatoes
  • chicken breasts
  • olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • red wine (doesn’t matter what type)
  • Morton’s nature’s seasonings
1st
Pasolivo Lemon Olive Oil (really is the the best)

Steps

  1. First, cut up the chicken in chunks of your liking.  Mix with a splash of red wine, balsamic vinegar, and Nature’s Seasonings. You don’t want your chicken swimming, but not dry either.
  2. Using a foil lined baking pan (easier for clean up!), cook chicken for 10 minutes @ 450.
  3. While the chicken is cooking, cut the rest of the ingredients placing them in a large mixing bowl.
  4. Combine 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1 c of balsamic vinegar (less if you are not a big balsamic fan), 1/4 c of red wine, 1 tablespoon of Nature’s Seasonings.  (This is the step of cooking I’m bad at. I usually just do splashes and pinches and eyeball it all.)
  5. Mix and coat all ingredients really well.
  6. Add the vegetables to the top of the chicken and put back in the oven @450 for about 20 minutes.

almost

I served our dinner with Basmati rice to make it more Mediterranean, but I’ve made this same meal and served it over penne, or just enjoyed it solo!

finished

Delicious, easy cleanup (most important factor in my book), and only took about 35 minutes!

Leave a Reply

