weekending at the Casual Cape

Hello Monday!  I totally don’t mind a Monday during the summer time – perks of being a teacher! Although we are getting closer and closer to returning to work and I literally cannot believe it.

We had a super lazy weekend around here, which was totally what I needed.  Literally did zero house projects, which was a first in a long time.

Friday I had a hair appointment and cut two inches off my hair, which doesn’t seem like a lot but it feels like it!  I started growing my hair out because of our wedding last fall, and then after the wedding I just kept growing it out.  I decided it was time for a little change!

Before and After

Friday night I made veggie nachos that I found on pinterest a long time ago.  They are a favorite at our house.

61 Recipes for Sunday Night Football - #recipes:

via

I kind of just looked at what they did and then have created my own version. This is what  I use:

  1.  your favorite bag of tortilla chips
  2. 1 can black beans
  3. 1 container of fresh salsa
  4. diced onions
  5. 2 diced jalapenos
  6. 2-3 cups of shredded taco blend cheese

I just lay out the chips in a baking dish and the add the toppings, bake at 375 for 25 minutes.  Occasionally I will add shredded chicken to the top, but Friday we opted for veggie because we already had all these ingredients in the house!  We top ours with guacamole and then devour.  So delicious and so easy!

Saturday we slept in super late- the joys of summer!  Then ran several errands, including returning the 96 inch long shower curtain I ordered for the guest bathroom. I ordered this one below from Bed, Bath & Beyond and 96 inches was soooooooooo long.  I should have gone with 84 inches.  Read about my angst with the bathroom here. I love the shower curtain, but it just seemed too, I don’t know…formal for our bathroom? It also made it feel darker because it was such a deep gray color.

A pattern reminiscent of wrought-iron scrollwork coupled with a calming azure background give the Vue Signature Iron Gates Shower Curtain a distinctly elegant, English appeal. This curtain is made of an easy to care for woven jacquard.:

via

Then I took a lovely little afternoon nap, read some of  The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. So far it’s okay, not in love with it.  Maybe once I get more into it?

 n

We ordered takeout Chinese from our favorite place and got The Lady in the Van on Redbox.  It was so good, and I love Maggie Smith.

Sunday slept in again—- really gotta work on getting up earlier since school starts soon!  Did some meal planning  for the week.

1

Can you tell that I like the color aqua?

Placed holds on books from the library for our beach trip next week.

2

Not sure if I will actually be able to get some of these in time for the beach!

Went to the movies and saw the new Jason Bourne movie.

Did some grocery shopping, laundry, and made dinner.

And ended the night with catching up on all my missed Real Housewives episodes.

Perfect weekend…couldn’t of asked for more!

Leave a Reply

