5 decorating trends i’m loving

Let me just start by saying I am not a trendy person, but occasionally something that is deemed “trendy” I like and feel like I can pull off.  Or I might just admire it from a safe distance.  🙂  Today I’m sharing five decorating trends that I’m loving right now and are totally my speed.

1. Palm Leaves

Using actual palm leaves (technically called a palm frond but that just seems too fancy, so I’ll stick to leaf) to decorate with in the house is everywhere right now.  I know palm print is huge right now, but I haven’t quite gotten on board with that.  Little tip – if you don’t have an actual palm to clip from, I picked up two fronds leaves at a local craft store for $7! They are identical to the Pottery Barn ones below. I also bought a real palm back in the Spring for $15 from Home Depot.  I nearly killed it living inside, so now it lives outside and I clip from it.

Faux Broad Leaf Palms #potterybarn:

via Pottery  Barn (no longer available)

Make an Entrance. Palm leaves. Ralph Lauren Home.:

via

Love this beachy kitchen.:

via

Place cut monstera leaf or any . decorative leaf in a modern vase for a dramtic look that will last nearly a month if the leaf is fresh. #monstera #leaf #modernflowerarrangement:

via

julialikesinstagram:  This leaf will always hold a special place in our hearts.  #framebridge by framebridge http://ift.tt/1J59k9l:

via

2. Wooden beads as decorative accents.

Seriously, I’m seeing them everywhere and I LOVE IT.  I need some stat- Pottery Barn did carry them, but they are currently unavailable! I recently bought a large glass jug lamp for our dining room and I’m thinking these would be so pretty around the lamp.

Celebrate Summer Home Tour | Rooms FOR Rent Blog-3443:

See them draped on the jug? Love.

via

design indulgence: AROUND THE HOUSE:

via

 :

via

bildschœnes: Kugelfieber – Achtung, Ansteckungsgefahr!:

Beads of Coffee Table

via

3. Mixed metals

I love how this looks, especially the brass fixtures.  If we were in the market for new fixtures everywhere, I might give it a try. I have to admit, I would be worried that I would get tired of it quickly. I wonder if this trend is something that in ten to twenty years will be viewed how we look back on houses built in the 90s with brass everything – door knobs, faucets, cabinet pulls, light fixtures.

Chic kitchen boasts a gray vaulted ceiling adorned with gray wood beams over a white shaker cabinets paired with calacatta marble.:

via

“The #farmhouse is done. The new owners get the keys today. Daniel Harper and his team are some talented builders. @renewproperties #milkandhoneyhome…”:

via

Fixer Upper | The Takeaways - A Though warm wood tones with black accentstful Place:

via

4. Statement pendants

Pendants are quickly replacing chandeliers, and I have to say this is definitely a trend I am loving.  Statement pendants were on my house wish list here if you want to check that out.  I really want to get a black pendant for the dining room.  Here are some that I love.

 :

via

Light fixture:

via

Love the pendant lighting.... White shaker style kitchen, with cross mullions on glass doors, dark floors and pendant lighting:

via

World Market Gold Quatrefoil 3Light Pendant Lamp copy:

via

5. Graphic tiles

I would love to do this in the Casual Cape. Our current tile in our bathrooms is kind of a whitewashed terracotta that looks like stone…very Tuscan feeling.

White + Light Grey bath room, graphic floor tiles:

via

Out with the 1950s pink fixtures and in with cement tile and shiplap walls for one very happy guest bathroom. By Studio McGee:

via

bathroom tile inspiration:

via

Tile materials into four broad categories- (1)Ceramic Tile, (2)Porcelain Tile, (3)Natural Stone and (4)Glass Tile. This will certainly help any person, designer or not, make the perfect selection for their home!:

via

One big decorating trend for 2016 that I’m not loving at all is black stainless steel appliances.  Have you see them? They are apparently the new big thing.  Some brands have a matte finish to them, and others just look to be a darker version on the typical stainless steel appliances.   They just look so dark.

Discover the LG Black Stainless Steel Series. Featuring a black stainless steel finish and the latest technology, it's at the forefront of style and innovation.:

Samsung

Look, a palm leaf!

KitchenAid Black Stainless appliances:

What do you think, would you try any of these trends?

Leave a Reply

